Serindipitious Noises – #FD64Fr33 (Pays To Miss Out)

(Originally posted on 26 October 2008 on Facebook)

I had gone into city centre early this afternoon to get a few grocery items for my self imposed “lock in” to get work done. It just so happens that this weekend in Cork City there is a Jazz Festival where in every nook, cranny and pub there is some jazz band, music of sorts playing. Monday is also a bank holiday so it’s a 3 day weekend, Holloween is this week and wouldn’t you know there was a food booth extravaganza all along St. Patrick’s Street.

There were foods from all over the world even “Native Foods From The Congo”. The aroma was delightfully mind numbing as I walked up and down the street. At the far end there was an unusually large crowed around one of the booths. Well of course I had to find out what the deal was. When I got to the crowed I saw that the booth was simply labeled “Vegetarian” …

OH MY ….AAAHHHH!…… WHAO! …. WOW! …. YAY!!!

This is the infamous “Vegetarian” booth. The woman who runs it has all sorts of vegan and gluten free desserts that she bakes herself at home and brings them to these festivals and such. However, they are either vegan or gluten free except for 250g vegan, gluten free chocolate chip cookies for only 1€! It was the only thing I could have. I could see it a huge tub piled high with these cookies! People were reaching in grabbing as many as their paws could hold and then waiting in line to pay.

I was wearing my prison orange rain jacket so I stuck out like a … girl in a bright orange jacket… The crowed was so big and think I couldn’t push my way through to get my grubby little hands on even one of the cookies! People still grabbed and grabbed. You could no longer see the cookies above the rim of the bin. People were reaching deeper and deeper.

Finally! I made it up to the booth, I look in the bin and yes, 3 cookies … NOOOOOO! … a very tall man with hands that could palm a basketball scooped them up with his right hand, put one in his mouth, wiped his wet nose with his left hand, put the other 2 cookies into his left hand and reach deep into his pant pocket and pulled out a 5€ bill … I was mortified, crush, my soul just died a thousand horrid deaths. Mouth full of cookie he made a very kind jester with his booger cookie hand and offered me one. I gave a sad smile and shook my head no…

“Ye wait here, Luv.” I looked over the woman running the booth quite confused “Ye waited long, ye can longer”

“You have more?” I asked

“No.”

Feeling really awkward I just shut up and waited. 5min, 10min, then 15 minutes later when the crowed died down to a trickle, the woman pulls out a huge bin piled high of vegan, gluten free 125g chocolate fudge with roasted hazel nut coating for only 2€ a piece. She pulls out a piece that looked like two that got stuck together, puts it in a paper bag and gives this to me. I try to hand her 10€ bill that I had. She turned her nose at it and said “Go away.”

“But…”

“Go away!”

“Well,…ahh…umm… Thank…”

“I TELL YE GO AWAY NOW!”

Scared senseless I scampered away muttering under my breath “Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You …”

I scurried into the park and sat on the bench. I pulled out my vegan, gluten free, chocolate fudge coated in roasted hazel nuts. I was like Charlie opening up that candy bar to find the golden ticket. I took the smallest bite – Oh the reverie! Never was there a diviner taste than this! My head swam in a rich, decadent haze!

Of course I thought to myself “Sometimes it pays to miss out…”

Leave a Reply

